Cast and creative


Sugarplum Fairy – Megan Fairchild
Her Cavalier – Joaquin De Luz
Dewdrop – Ashley Bouder


Ballet Master in Chief – Peter Martins
Music – Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Choreography – George Balanchine
Scenery – Rouben Ter-Arutunian
Costumes – Karinska
Original Lighting – Ronald Bates
Lighting – Mark Stanley
Directed for the screen by Alan Skog


New York City Ballet is one of the foremost dance companies in the world, with an unparalleled repertory of ballets—most of them created for NYCB—many of which are considered modern masterpieces. The Company was founded in 1948 by arts patron Lincoln Kirstein and the legendary choreographer George Balanchine, who served as Ballet Master of NYCB from its inception until his death in 1983.  In 1949, Jerome Robbins joined the Company as Associate Artistic Director. NYCB moved to its current home at Lincoln Center’s New York State Theater (now the David H. Koch Theater), built especially for Balanchine and the Company in 1964. Now under the direction of Ballet Master in Chief Peter Martins and Executive Director Katherine Brown, the Company has more than 90 dancers, a 62-member orchestra, an official school (the School of American Ballet), an institute for choreography (the New York Choreographic Institute), and an annual 21-week season in New York City.  NYCB is committed to promoting creative excellence and nurturing a new generation of dancers and choreographers.
New York City Ballet Website